Review · Over-ear ANC
Sonos Ace Ultra
The Ace Ultra makes the most sense if you already own a Sonos soundbar: TV Audio Swap brings your TV sound to the headphones, and reviewers call it a big upgrade over the original Ace. Without a Sonos system, it's a heavy, pricey alternative to the Sony WH-1000XM6 and Bose QC Ultra Headphones with fewer reasons to pick it.
Our take
The short version
Sonos announced the Ace Ultra on Sep 1, 2026 and put it on sale Sep 29, so it's the newest model on our list. The Verge, Engadget, TechRadar, and Tom's Guide agree it's a big upgrade over the original Ace, and that it makes the most sense for Sonos soundbar owners because of TV Audio Swap, which lets you move TV audio from a Sonos soundbar to the headphones. Dolby Atmos with head tracking strengthens that pitch for movies.
The rest of the spec sheet is current: Bluetooth 6.0, aptX Lossless, USB-C and 3.5 mm wired audio, 10 mics, and a claimed 35 hours with ANC, with a 3-minute charge good for 3 hours. Replaceable cushions and a replaceable battery are a welcome nod to longevity. Wi-Fi headphone linking is still an Early Access feature, so don't buy it for that alone.
Two things hold it back. At 322 g it's heavier than the Sony WH-1000XM6 (~254 g) and the Sennheiser Momentum 5 (290 g), and it's pricey: list $449, and it was around $449 on Amazon in early October 2026, a week after launch. That's roughly $70 more than the Sony. If you want Sonos for less, the original Ace (~$349, still sold) is an option, though we don't review it.
Pros and cons
What we like
- TV Audio Swap from Sonos soundbars
- Reviewers call it a big upgrade over the original Ace
- 35 h with ANC; a 3-minute charge gives 3 h
- aptX Lossless, Bluetooth 6.0, and USB-C and 3.5 mm wired audio
- Replaceable cushions and battery
Trade-offs
- Heavy at 322 g
- Pricey, with no launch discount yet
- Wi-Fi headphone linking is still Early Access
- Much of the pitch depends on owning a Sonos soundbar
Who it's for
Buy it if…
- Sonos soundbar owners who want private late-night TV
- Movie watchers who want Dolby Atmos with head tracking
- Buyers who want replaceable cushions and battery
Skip it if…
- No Sonos soundbar: the Sony WH-1000XM6 is the consensus pick for less
- Battery hoarders: the Sennheiser Momentum 5 claims 57 h and also has a replaceable battery
- Strict budgets: the Soundcore Space One is Wirecutter's budget pick
Spec sheet
Ace Ultra specs
| Battery | 35 h with ANC; 3 min charge = 3 h |
|---|---|
| Noise cancelling | Yes |
| Weight | 322 g |
| Drivers | Custom 40 mm |
| Codecs | aptX Lossless |
| Bluetooth | 6.0 |
| Multipoint | Not specified |
| Water resistance | Not specified |
| Wired / USB-C audio | USB-C and 3.5 mm audio |
| Microphones | 10 |
| App / EQ | Not specified |
| Also notable | TV Audio Swap from Sonos soundbars; Wi-Fi headphone linking (Early Access); Dolby Atmos with head tracking; replaceable cushions and battery |
From the manufacturer sources listed below. “Not specified” means those sources don't state it.
Watch
Ace Ultra on video
Video by 9to5Mac on YouTube. Their views are their own.
Cross-shop
Alternatives to consider
Bose QuietComfort Ultra Headphones (2nd Gen)
- Over-ear ANC
- ~$449
- 2025
- Any phone
Sony's closest rival, and a better deal than it looks if you'll take Desert Gold or White Smoke.
Pros
- Pro: SoundGuys' close runner-up to the Sony WH-1000XM6
- Pro: aptX Adaptive with Snapdragon Sound and lossless USB-C audio
- Pro: Multipoint and Bluetooth 5.4
Trade-offs
- Trade-off: Black was selling at full list price, above the Sony
- Trade-off: SoundGuys ranks it just behind the Sony
- Travel
- 5 out of 5
- Calls
- 4 out of 5
- Music
- 4 out of 5
Editorial fit scores, 1–5, from published reviews and specs — not lab measurements.
Check priceAffiliate link to Amazon. Price approx., seen Oct 2026.
Read the review: Bose QuietComfort Ultra Headphones (2nd Gen)Sony WH-1000XM6
- Over-ear ANC
- ~$378
- May 2025
- Any phone
The safest over-ear noise canceller: the big reviewers' default pick, now well under list.
Pros
- Pro: Wirecutter's top pick and SoundGuys' best for most people
- Pro: 12 mics and multipoint make it a strong office-call headset
- Pro: LDAC and LC3 support plus a 10-band EQ
Trade-offs
- Trade-off: 30 h with ANC trails the Momentum 5 (57 h) and Space One (40 h)
- Trade-off: SoundGuys saw stronger noise cancelling from the AirPods Max 2
- Travel
- 5 out of 5
- Calls
- 5 out of 5
- Music
- 4 out of 5
Editorial fit scores, 1–5, from published reviews and specs — not lab measurements.
Apple AirPods Max 2
- Over-ear ANC
- ~$429
- Mar 2026
- iPhone
The quietest over-ears in SoundGuys' testing, for iPhone owners who can live with 386 g.
Pros
- Pro: Strongest ANC in SoundGuys' noise-cancelling testing
- Pro: H2 in each ear cup; Apple claims up to 1.5x better ANC than the original
- Pro: Adaptive Audio, Conversation Awareness, and Live Translation
Trade-offs
- Trade-off: Heavy at 386.2 g, with a firm clamp
- Trade-off: 20 h battery, no power-off control, and no user EQ
- Travel
- 4 out of 5
- Calls
- 4 out of 5
- Music
- 4 out of 5
Editorial fit scores, 1–5, from published reviews and specs — not lab measurements.
Check priceAffiliate link to Amazon. Price approx., seen Oct 2026.
Read the review: Apple AirPods Max 2
Related guides and comparisons
Sources
Manufacturer specs
- Sonos Ace Ultra product page (opens in a new tab) — Battery, charging, weight, driver, mics, Bluetooth, codecs, wired audio, and features
- Sonos Newsroom — Announcement (Sep 1, 2026) and on-sale date (Sep 29)
Review consensus
- The Verge — Ace Ultra review consensus: big upgrade, best for Sonos soundbar owners, heavy and pricey
- Engadget — Ace Ultra review consensus: big upgrade, best for Sonos soundbar owners, heavy and pricey
- TechRadar — Ace Ultra review consensus: big upgrade, best for Sonos soundbar owners, heavy and pricey
- Tom's Guide — Ace Ultra review consensus: big upgrade, best for Sonos soundbar owners, heavy and pricey
Published reviews and manufacturer specs, researched October 5, 2026. We didn't test these headphones ourselves; judgments credited to an outlet are that outlet's.
Disclosure: Our picks are independent and editorial — a synthesis of published reviews and manufacturer specs, not our own lab measurements. Prices are approximate Amazon prices seen October 5, 2026, not live quotes. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases made through links on this page, at no extra cost to you.




