Research · 27" 1440p Fast IPS
ASUS ROG Strix XG27ACS: what the testing says
The XG27ACS is the budget gaming monitor to buy for fast games. TechSpot scored it 90 and calls it the best-performing 1440p 180Hz LCD it has tested for response times, with overdrive that needs no fiddling and accurate factory calibration. There's no real HDR and contrast is ordinary IPS, but for about $200 to $230 nothing is cleaner in motion.
Our take
The short version
ASUS's ROG Strix XG27ACS is the monitor TechSpot keeps recommending when the budget is about $200. Its July 2024 review scored it 90 and concluded that if you prioritize response times and aren't interested in HDR, it was "the best option we've seen at this price point." TechSpot's September 2026 roundup still says it's absolutely worth buying whenever it hits the $200 range, and TechRadar gave it 4 out of 5.
The appeal is that it just works. TechSpot found its variable overdrive produced no overshoot at any refresh rate, so you can leave it on the default setting, and praised its factory sRGB calibration. The stand adjusts for height, tilt, swivel, and pivot, there's a tripod socket for a webcam or light, and a USB-C input with DisplayPort Alt Mode lets you plug in a laptop with one cable.
That USB-C port only supplies 7.5W, though, so it won't charge a laptop. HDR is nominal (DisplayHDR 400, no local dimming), contrast is ordinary IPS at 1,000:1, HDMI tops out at 144Hz, and there are no speakers. If picture quality in dark, cinematic games matters more than motion, the AOC Q27G3XMN is the better budget buy; for multiplayer shooters, this one.
Pros and cons
What we like
- TechSpot 90/100: the best response-time tuning it has seen on a 1440p 180Hz LCD
- Overdrive needs no tweaking; accurate factory sRGB calibration
- Fully adjustable stand plus a tripod socket
- USB-C DisplayPort Alt Mode input
- About $200–$230
Trade-offs
- No real HDR (DisplayHDR 400, no local dimming)
- Ordinary 1,000:1 IPS contrast
- USB-C supplies only 7.5W: no laptop charging
- HDMI capped at 144Hz; no speakers
Who it's for
Buy it if…
- Competitive and multiplayer gamers on a budget
- Anyone who wants one accurate, adjustable 1440p screen for work and play
- Gamers upgrading from a 1080p monitor
Skip it if…
- HDR and cinematic single-player fans: get the AOC Q27G3XMN
- Laptop users who want one-cable charging
- Dark-room movie watchers: IPS blacks look gray
Spec sheet
ROG Strix XG27ACS specs
| Screen size | 27" |
|---|---|
| Resolution | 2560 x 1440 |
| Refresh rate | 180Hz (HDMI up to 144Hz) |
| Panel | Fast IPS |
| Response time | 1ms GtG |
| Brightness | 350 nits typical; 400 nits peak (HDR) |
| Contrast | 1,000:1 |
| HDR certification | VESA DisplayHDR 400 |
| Color gamut | 97% DCI-P3, 133% sRGB; calibration report included |
| Adaptive sync | AMD FreeSync; G-Sync Compatible; ELMB Sync |
| Ports | 1x DisplayPort 1.4, 1x HDMI 2.0, USB-C, headphone jack |
| USB-C / Thunderbolt | DisplayPort Alt Mode; 7.5W power delivery |
| KVM switch | No |
| Stand | Height (120 mm), tilt, swivel, pivot; tripod socket |
| VESA mount | 100 x 100 mm |
| Curvature | Flat |
| Screen finish | Anti-glare |
| Weight | 6.61 kg with stand |
| Warranty | Not specified |
| Also notable | No speakers; Shadow Boost; GamePlus |
From the manufacturer sources listed below. “Not specified” means those sources don't state it.
Watch
ROG Strix XG27ACS on video
Video by Monitors Unboxed on YouTube. Their views are their own.
Cross-shop
Alternatives to consider
AOC Q27G3XMN
- 27" 1440p
- Mini-LED VA
- 180Hz
- ~$229.99
Real Mini-LED HDR for about $230: the best-looking picture you can get at a budget price.
Pros
- Pro: RTINGS' best budget gaming monitor and best under $300 (2026)
- Pro: 336-zone Mini-LED backlight: real local dimming at a budget price
- Pro: DisplayHDR 1000 and high VA contrast for deep blacks
Trade-offs
- Trade-off: Dark scenes smear, as on most VA panels
- Trade-off: Blooming around bright objects (Reviewed)
- Value
- 5 out of 5
- Gaming
- 4 out of 5
- Color
- 4 out of 5
Editorial fit scores, 1–5, from published reviews and specs — not lab measurements.
Gigabyte MO27Q2A
- 27" 1440p
- QD-OLED
- 280Hz
- ~$399.99
A full-brightness 280Hz QD-OLED with USB-C, a KVM switch, and speakers for about $400.
Pros
- Pro: Full-brightness 280Hz QD-OLED for about $400, the class TechSpot recommends
- Pro: USB-C video, a USB hub, and a KVM switch: the best ports at the price
- Pro: Rated for about 1,000-nit HDR highlights (DisplayHDR True Black 400)
Trade-offs
- Trade-off: TechSpot tested its predecessor, the MO27Q2, not this exact model
- Trade-off: Glossy QD-OLED: purple-gray blacks and reflections in a bright room (TechPowerUp)
- Gaming
- 5 out of 5
- Value
- 5 out of 5
- Color
- 4 out of 5
Editorial fit scores, 1–5, from published reviews and specs — not lab measurements.
Check priceAffiliate link to Amazon. Price approx., seen Oct 2026.
Read the breakdown: Gigabyte MO27Q2ADell S2725QS
- 27" 4K
- IPS
- 120Hz
- ~$229.99
4K at 120Hz for about $230: the cheapest way to get genuinely sharp text on a 27-inch screen.
Pros
- Pro: RTINGS' best budget 4K monitor and Wirecutter's budget 4K pick
- Pro: 4K text clarity and 120Hz for about $230
- Pro: Two HDMI 2.1 ports run consoles at 4K 120Hz
Trade-offs
- Trade-off: No USB ports at all: no USB-C charging or hub
- Trade-off: Motion blurs in fast games (RTINGS)
- Value
- 5 out of 5
- Work
- 4 out of 5
- Color
- 3 out of 5
Editorial fit scores, 1–5, from published reviews and specs — not lab measurements.
Related guides and comparisons
Sources
Manufacturer specs
- ASUS ROG Strix XG27ACS specifications (opens in a new tab) — Panel, brightness, gamut, ports, and stand
Published testing and reviews
- TechSpot (opens in a new tab) — Review (Jul 10, 2024): 90/100; Best Gaming Monitors 2026 (Sep 10, 2026): buy it near $200
- TechRadar — Review (Mar 14, 2024): 4/5
- RTINGS — Notable mention, Best Budget Monitors (Sep 1, 2026)
Published reviews and manufacturer specs, researched October 7, 2026. We didn't test these monitors ourselves; judgments credited to an outlet are that outlet's.
Disclosure: Our picks are independent and editorial — a synthesis of published reviews and manufacturer specs, not our own lab measurements. Prices are approximate Amazon prices seen October 7, 2026, not live quotes. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases made through links on this page, at no extra cost to you.





